Physics Department Committee Assignments for 2023-2024

Department Chair Hagen Associate Chair Maslov

Undergraduate

Coordinator Hershfield

Advisors Biswas, Hershfield, Matcheva, McGill, Ray, Weatherford

Director of Labs

Experiential Learning Coordinator

Large Course Textbook Coordinator

Learning Assistant Coordinator

SPS Advisor

DeSerio

Weatherford

Krishna

Bartos

Undergrad Affairs (Curriculum) Cmte Hershfield (Chair), Biswas, DeSerio, Krishna, Matcheva, B. Xue

Graduate

Coordinator Lee
Ombuds Biswas
TA Training Coordinator McGill

Grad Student Affairs Cmte (GSAC) Lee (Chair), Wang (co-Chair), Hamlin, Houtz, W. Xue, X.G. Zhang Grad Recruitment & Admissions (GRAC) Konigsberg (Chair), Fulda (co-Chair), Dror, Furic, Gazizulin, Hamlin,

Hirschfeld, Jia, Korytov, Laroche, Matchev, S. Xu, X.G. Zhang

Prelim Exam Muttalib (Chair), Takano (Reviewer)

Exam Committee I Andrews, Chang, Gazizulin, Hamlin, Matcheva, Meisel, Saab, Stanton,

(work begins after Jan 2024) Stewart, Takahashi, Yelton, X.G. Zhang

Exam Committee II Fulda, Furic, Hagen, Ingersent, Klimenko, Laroche, Maslov, Mitselmakher

(work ends in Jan 2024) Ray, Woodard, B. Xue, W. Xue, X.X. Zhang

Teaching

Advisory Cmte on Teaching Hirschfeld (Chair), Saab (co-Chair), Hershfield, Ingersent, Lee, Stanton,

Weatherford

Large Course Teaching Cmte Maslov (Chair), Krishna (co-Chair), Biswas, Chang, Hershfield, Korytov,

Matcheva, McGill, Saab, Takano, Weatherford, Yelton (Statistician),

X.G. Zhang

Peer Evaluation of Teaching Cmte Biswas (Chair), Bartos, Furic, Ingersent, Muttalib, Rinzler,

Saab, Sikivie, Stewart, Takano, Woodard

Research/Infrastructure

Artificial Intelligence Matchev (Chair), Bartos, Chang, Jia

Computing Stanton (Chair), Chang, Hansen, Matcheva, S. Xu

Helium Sullivan (Chair), Biswas, Lee, X.X. Zhang, Rinzler (ex officio)

Space & Safety Cmte Meisel (Chair), Rinzler, Stanton, Takano

Technical Operations Cmte Rinzler (Chair), Fulda, Korytov, Meisel, Sullivan

Personnel & Governance

Department Advisory Cmte Ex officio: Hershfield, Lee, Maslov

Term ends F25: Andrey Korytov, Tarek Saab, Peter Hirschfeld (Chair)

Term ends F24: Chris Stanton, Neil Sullivan, John Yelton

Salary Review Cmte Maslov (Chair)

Term ends F25: Heather Ray, James Hamlin, Jeffrey Andrews
Term ends F24: Amlan Biswas, Peter Hirschfeld, John Yelton

Bylaws Revision Yelton (Chair), Hamlin, Matcheva, McGill, Stanton, Sullivan

Faculty Meeting Recorder Chang (fall 2023), Jia (spring 2024)

Recruiting Liaison Maslov (interim)

3rd year (Midterm) Reviews (TBD)

Events, Awards, & Funds

Adv Theor Physics Fund Maslov (Chair), Andrews, Jia, Woodard, B. Xue

Commencement Marshal Woodard (Chair), Hamlin, Laroche, Muttalib, Rinzler, Sullivan, W. Xue

Faculty Awards Committee Ray (co-Chair), Stewart (co-Chair), Maslov, Tanner, W. Xue

Outreach & Events Coordinator McGill

Undergrad Student Awards Cmte Hershfield (Chair), Chang, Houtz, Krishna

Center Directors

CCMS X.X. Zhang
IFT Hirschfeld
IHEPA Mitselmakher

Microkelvin Meisel

QTP John Stanton

Seminars

Astrophysics Fulda

Colloquium Cmte Bartos (Chair), Andrews, Houtz, Klimenko, Korytov, Laroche, Matchev,

Saab, Takahashi

Condensed Matter / Biophysics Wang, X.X. Zhang, B. Xue

High Energy W.Xue (Chair), Dror (Co-chair)

College & University Bartos & Hershfield - Faculty Senate 2025; Stewart - CLAS T&P Cmte

(interim); Ray - UF GenEd Audit 2023; McGill - UF GenEd 2024.

Faculty Searches

Biophysics computation – BingKan Xue (ch), Mark Meisel, Juannan Zhou, John Yelton Computational materials – Xiaoguang Zhang (ch), Amlan Biswas, R. Hennig, Chunjing Jia, Yuxuan Wang Gravitational Wave Physics – Paul Fulda (ch), Jeff Andrews, Imre Bartos, Serguei Klimenko, Andrew Rinzler Low Temp Physics – Meisel (ch), Dominique Laroche, Yoon Lee, Joanna Long, Tarek Saab